Under Texas law, a charge of Disorderly Conduct covers a variety of illegal behavior and actions, and is thus very easy to receive.
The offense is generally categorized as a Class C Misdemeanor, and thus punishable by up to a $500 fine.
If commited in a public place, it may be enhanced to a Class B Misdemeanor, and thus punishable by up to 180 days in jail, and up to a $2,000 fine.
* See the list of actions below which may constitute a Disorderly Conduct charge.
- uses abusive, indecent, profane, or vulgar language in a public place, and the language by its very utterance tends to incite an immediate breach of the peace;
- makes an offensive gesture or display in a public place, and the gesture or display tends to incite an immediate breach of the peace;
- creates, by chemical means, a noxious and unreasonable odor in a public place;
- abuses or threatens a person in a public place in an obviously offensive manner;
- makes unreasonable noise in a public place other than a sport shooting range, or in or near a private residence that he has no right to occupy;
- fights with another in a public place;
- discharges a firearm in a public place other than a public road or a sport shooting
- displays a firearm or other deadly weapon in a public place in a manner calculated to alarm;
- discharges a firearm on or across a public road;
- exposes his anus or genitals in a public place and is reckless about whether another may be present who will be offended or alarmed by his act;
- for a lewd or unlawful purpose:
- enters on the property of another and looks into a dwelling on the property through any window or other opening in the dwelling;
- while on the premises of a hotel or comparable establishment, looks into a guest room not the person’s own through a window or other opening in the room; or
- while on the premises of a public place, looks into an area such as a restroom or shower stall or changing or dressing room that is designed to provide privacy to a person using the area.
NOTE: The information contained in this page provides only a basic overview of Texas law. This is not a comprehensive explanation of the law, but rather a simple summary meant to provide the reader with basic knowledge. This information is NOT legal advice of any kind, and should not be relied upon as such. Some information may not reflect current law, and thus we do not guarantee the accuracy of any information displayed herein. Always consult an attorney regarding your particular matter.
What Does This Mean
Because this offense is usually filed as only a Class C Misdemeanor, rates for representation are very reasonable. Often times, the reduction in fines and court costs alone will pay for the entire representation. It is also important that you have a qualified attorney look into the matter to ensure that the charge even has merit. If so, we can usually work with prosecution to obtain a very fair deal for you and possibly have the offense deferred. This means that as long as you remain out of trouble for a period of time determined by the court, your charge will be dismissed.
Protect your good name, keep your record clean. These are minimal charges, but can still have a major impact on your ability to get into a good school or find a good job. It is very important that you take a charge of Disorderly Conduct seriously. A conviction for this offense can have a large impact on your life, both personally and professionally.
Call Us Today
If you are currently facing a charge of Disorderly Conduct, it is important that you contact a qualified criminal defense attorney as soon as possible. At Ross Law Offices, we offer a free consultation to discuss your case and go over every option you may have. Don’t hesitate. Call us today.