Driving Under the Influence is a Texas law which has been created specifically for driver’s under the age of 21. Unlike a Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) offense, a person does not have to have a Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) of over .08 to be convicted of this crime. Because the legal drinking age in Texas is 21, it is illegal for anyone under that age to drive with ANY amount of alcohol in their system.
If you are under the age of 21, the first time you are caught driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs, you face the following penalties:
- 60 day Driver’s License Suspension
- up to a $500 fine
- up to 40 hours of community service
- court-ordered Alcohol Awareness classes
The penalties become greater with every repeat offense. A second or third DUI can carry a license suspension of up to 180 days.
*** BAC of .08 or More
If a person under the age of 21 is caught driving with a BAC of .08 or higher, the penalties greatly increase, because that person is driving while legally drunk. For a person between the ages of 17 and 21, the penalties for this offense can include:
- up to a $2,000 fine
- 72 hours to 180 days in jail
- Driver’s License suspension of 90 days to 1 year
Don’t Wait! Call Us Today
Although a DUI is only a Class C misdemeanor, it can carry with it extremely severe consequences that can last the rest of a person’s life. Admittance to advanced education can become nearly impossible, and many employers will never even consider a person with this charge on their record.
If you have been charged with DUI, it is extremely important that you contact an experienced criminal defense attorney as soon as possible. At Ross Law Offices, we provide a free consultation to discuss your case and review with you all of the options regarding your DUI defense. Call us today.